Not Your Average Target Trip

It all started near the Agua Fria riverbed and Happy Valley, behind the Target plaza.

I live in the area.  The expanse of hunting ground is good (screenprint from Google Maps).

map

blog1

Caught on Barbed Wire

I’m a prairie falcon.  I am lighter colored than the peregrine falcon.  I cruise at about 45 mph, at a little over 3 feet off the ground when I’m hunting.  I fly faster when I have found my prey.

Today I was on the hunt and ran into some barbed wire.  Not good news.

I am lucky.  A lady walking her dog found me and called Fallen Feathers.  Jody, their founder came to get me; it helps that she lives only minutes away.  That was also fortunate for me as I was in serious need of medical treatment.   The barbed wire cut me deeply on my leg and stomach.  I have been at Fallen Feathers for two nights resting and healing.  They put this annoying necklace on me so I can’t pick at my stitches.   I don’t know how long I am going to be here, but I do know that next time, I’m shopping somewhere else for my food.

Duke, the prairie falcon

Update:  Unfortunately Duke did not survive the severity of his injuries.

Prairie Falcon
Prairie Falcon

blog4blog2

About Fallen Feathers blog author

Fallen Feathers is a bird rehabilitation and rescue organization dedicated to helping injured, orphaned or lost birds wild and exotic birds. We are located in Northwest Phoenix, Arizona. We are a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization relying on donations and volunteer support. This blog is the stories of the various birds that visit Fallen Feathers.

Posted on January 17, 2015, in bird rehabilitation, bird rescue, injured bird, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

