Dusty in the Storm

 IMG_5651 IMG_5654

My name is Dusty, I am a Barn Owl. Today two volunteers came into my aviary and brought me inside, where I met another volunteer. This one had a big scary thing hanging from her neck. It was called a camera by others. I had many pictures taken of me (above) and I screamed at the volunteers to scare them. When I tried to fly away, they grabbed and placed me in a carrier.

From there I met the three volunteers who took me for a ride to my new home. They talked and I screeched over them, making it difficult to hear. I didn’t like listening to this “Katy Perry” person, and screamed at them to stop it.

When we arrived, I saw trees, bushes, and farmland. This would be my new home. As soon as we were about to release there was a terrible beeping sound, an alert appeared on all three volunteers’ phones at once: “Severe Dust Storm”. The volunteers refused to release in such bad weather. So we started our long drive back to the rescue where I would be safe in my aviary. I saw other birds struggling to fly in the strong wind. I am glad they didn’t put me out there.

On the way back I complained, I had a very long day and was tired; also, the volunteers stopped for ice cream, which I wanted to try. Although I did stop complaining and was silent for one song by a person known as “P!nk”. This radio thing is very interesting. Now I am sitting and waiting for my release in the aviary with some food.  I appreciate the shelter, I am protected from the ongoing storm.

-Dusty, the Barn Owl

P.S.  I had to wait two more days due to bad weather.  I heard the volunteers talking and they put me back in a carrier and back in the car.  I complained and jumped around.  I lurched at where the opening of the carrier was but it wouldn’t give.  I had to endure another car ride.   The volunteers took me back to the same place.  It was perfect and I was very happy and excited.  I quickly flew away, stretching my wings, knowing I was free.

IMG_6114

About Fallen Feathers blog author

Fallen Feathers is a bird rehabilitation and rescue organization dedicated to helping injured, orphaned or lost birds wild and exotic birds. We are located in Northwest Phoenix, Arizona. We are a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization relying on donations and volunteer support. This blog is the stories of the various birds that visit Fallen Feathers.

Posted on July 5, 2015, in bird rehabilitation, bird release, wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

